EY World Entrepreneur Of The Year Award 2014, 4-8 June, Monaco

Patrick Joy of Suretank, winner of the EY Entrepreneur Of The Year 2013, will leave for Monaco this Wednesday to represent Ireland at the EY World Entrepreneur Of The Year Award in Monaco.  Patrick will be among the 60 country winners, representing 51 countries to be inducted into the EY World Entrepreneur Of The Year Hall of Fame and compete for the world title. The winner will be announced at a ceremony on the evening of Saturday 7 June.

Suretank is the world’s leading supplier of engineered solutions to the Offshore Oil and Gas industry with turnover exceeding €70 million.  Holding a 62% global market share, Suretank is also the leader in the transport tank industry, currently employs 700 people.

Patrick Joy, founder and chairman of Suretank, said: "It is a very humbling experience to be nominated among so many great entrepreneurs from around the world and I feel extremely honoured to have got this far.  I owe much of my success to the hard work and commitment of my loyal workforce and the unwavering support of my family and close friends. Whatever the outcome of these awards I am delighted to have got to this stage and hope that I can be an inspiration to others."  EY’s Frank O’Keeffe, Partner-in-Charge of the Entrepreneur Of The Year™ programme in Ireland, commented: “Patrick Joy represents the very best of what Ireland has to offer on a global stage, particularly in the engineering and manufacturing sector.”

Last year, Ireland was named Europe’s most entrepreneurial country by The Wall Street Journal and EY World Entrepreneur Of The Year provides an ideal platform to showcase the world’s leading entrepreneurs. “I’m delighted to see such a terrific entrepreneur represent Ireland for the coveted world title at the Awards this year”, said O’Keeffe.  The overall winner is chosen by an independent judging panel of distinguished former EY Entrepreneur Of The Year winners and globally renowned entrepreneurs. The prestigious accolade is awarded on the basis of six criteria: entrepreneurial spirit, financial performance, strategic direction, innovation, global impact and personal integrity/influence.

Denis O’Brien of Digicel has been selected as a member of the prestigious independent judging panel for World Entrepreneur Of The Year this year, following Liam Casey of PCH who was selected to sit on the panel in 2013.  “It is really encouraging for the second year running, to see an Irish entrepreneur selected to sit on the global judging panel and is an indication of the caliber of entrepreneurs Ireland continues to produce” commented O’Keeffe.

In addition to the Awards Gala, the World Entrepreneur Of The Year Programme also includes a series of keynote speeches, panel discussions and events tailored to the entrepreneurs and influential business leaders in attendance, including EY World Entrepreneur Of The Year Alumni. Speakers include one of the most successful figures in world football, Sir Alex Ferguson, former Manager of Manchester United; Muhammad Yunus, Founder of Grameen Bank and Nobel Peace Prize recipient in 2006; Martha Stewart, Founder and Chair of Martha Stewart Living Omnimedia; Eric Wahl, number one best-selling author, entrepreneur, and internationally recognised artist; and Hamdi Ulukaya, Founder and CEO, Chobani Inc. and Winner of EY World Entrepreneur Of The Year 2013.

Key themes covered during the event will include emerging markets, natural resources and energy, big data, contributing to society, educating the workforce of the future, private equity, and family business. The independent judging panel will be chaired by Rebecca MacDonald of Just Energy Group Inc. (Canada). Joining her will be:

- Denis O'Brien of Digicel Group (Ireland)
- Chieko Aoki of BlueTree Hotels (Brazil)
- Mikael Hed of Rovio Entertainment Ltd. (Finland)
- Dr. Tetsuya Iizuka of THine Electronics, Inc. (Japan)
- Kay Koplovitz of USA Network, Koplovitz & Company, and Springboard Enterprises (United States)
- Ulysses Kyriacopoulos of S&B Industrial Minerals SA (Greece)
- Tan Sri Liew Kee Sin of Battersea Project Holding Company Ltd, and S P Setia Berhad (Malaysia)
- Ashish Thakkar of Mara Group (Uganda)
- Michael Wu of Hong Kong Maxim’s Group (China)

A full list of the 60 winners competing this year is available at www.ey.com/weoy. For broadcast quality, downloadable video content, visit the broadcast newsroom https://broadcast.ey.com The videos are B Roll and web videos, non-branded, sound bites.